NO POO: Day 80

5/10/12

SO, my dear followers, it’s day 80 for me, which translates to about two and a half months. Lately, I haven’t been completely satisfied with my NOO POO regimen, and wanted to share this with you all.

A habit of mine is to “shampoo” my hair with baking soda only before I plan on straightening it. I’ll wash, blow dry, and straighten it, and be able to leave it just as it is for about 4 days. But around the fourth day, it starts to develop a funky smell. Not a dirty smell, but almost like the smell of the baking soda. This happens even if I use essential oils. I think a quick fix for this is to spray my hair with body spray. Hair holds scents very well, so the body spray makes it smell fruity instead of salty, like baking soda.

Also I have noticed that if I leave it straight for too long, I start to get dandruff. It’s gross, and then I have to wash my head all over again. HOWEVER, it’s probably because I haven’t used tea tree oil in….over a month. Maybe I should start doing that again, haha.

I think these are two of the biggest complaints of NO POO. But just in case there’s something better out there, I’ve started doing some research. Nicole found a line of shampoos called Nature’s Gate (http://www.shopnatures-gate.com/category/hair_care) that are sulfate and PABA-free. Which, when you think about it, avoiding sulfates was the whole reason we started this endeavor. Her hair looks much better than it did with the baking soda. Also, these shampoos are good for daily use, for those of you who are still grossed out by not washing your hair everyday 😛

The shampoos and conditioners are sold at Target, and range from $7-8 a bottle. But if you’ve been doing NO POO already, you still won’t have to wash your hair every day. This shampoo has helped Nicole keep her hair cleaner longer than with just baking soda, and they also have awesome scents to choose from 🙂 

I’m stuck between the Aloe Vera moisturizing shampoo (http://www.shopnatures-gate.com/detail/TCL+41100078) and the Chamomile and Lemon Verbena shampoo (http://www.shopnatures-gate.com/detail/TCL+41200020). Both can be found under the “Dry & Damaged hair” section of the website.

I’m hesitant to try these new shampoos because I feel like I’m cheating on my usual NO POO regimen, but I think I’m going to give them a try and see if I like it better than the baking soda. 

ALSO, while I was perusing the internet for other sulfate-free shampoos, I found an interesting article called “Do You Really Need SLS-Free Shampoo?” (http://skeptoid.com/blog/2012/01/30/do-you-really-need-sls-free-shampoo/) If you don’t feel like reading it, here’s a quick summary:

Sulfates aren’t seriously harmful to humans, otherwise they wouldn’t be used so widely. They are effective at removing dirt and oil, even if they take too much oil from your scalp and hair. There are people in the world that don’t use shampoo (hey, that’s me!). 

The article was written by a bald man.

-_______________-

That’s all for today! Watch for a new post soon about my favorite beauty products and a list of 10 manicures that me and Nicole LOVE 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

