NO POO: FAQs (because I know you all have some)

 2/26/12

Everytime I tell one of my friends that I don’t use shampoo, they get really grossed out for a minute…

BUT THEN…

they ask tons of questions!!

So I figured that I would post a quick FAQ page, and also leave it open to questions in the comments section. Enjoy! 🙂

QUESTION 1: What is the baking soda for?

ANSWER: The baking soda acts as your “shampoo”. It will remove excess oil and also help exfoliate the dead skin from your scalp, keeping                                                         your scalp and hair both clean.

QUESTION 2: What does the apple cider vinegar/lemon juice do?

ANSWER: Choose one of these products to act as your “conditioner”. The acid in these acts as a clarifier, and it will soften your hair considerably and remove knots and tangles.

QUESTION 3: But isn’t my hair going to smell bad??

ANSWER: No. Baking soda is a natural deodorizer (it’s why people put boxes of baking soda in their fridges). And your hair is clean, so clean hair isn’t going to smell bad.

QUESTION 4: How do I wash my hair?

ANSWER: Make a paste using 1 Tbsp of baking soda and some water. I have really thick hair, so I take half of my paste and put it on top of my head and gently massage my scalp with it, and then flip my head over and use the rest of the paste on the rest of my head. Rinse thoroughly, and then rinse with whatever acid clarifier you chose (apple cider vinegar, or lemon juice). Rinse out the vinegar or lemon juice, and you’re done! NOTE: Lemon juice can lighten your hair, so if you have color-treated hair or do not want your hair to lighten, you should stick to the apple cider vinegar. ALSO: Both the lemon juice and the apple cider vinegar should be diluted, one part acid to two parts water.

QUESTION 5: But I like shampoo because it smells good! (okay, this isn’t really a question, but people say it to me and Nicole all the time)

ANSWER: Then make some “poo” that smells good! The easiest way to prepare your “poo” is to mix the baking soda and water in an empty, clean shampoo bottle (ironic, I know).

IRONIC!

Once you’ve prepared the paste, you can add essential oils such as chamomile, lavender, peppermint, or whatever you want! If you have dandruff or an itchy scalp, you can add tea tree oil and it will relieve your itching.

QUESTION 6: Won’t my hair be greasy?

ANSWER: Everyone’s hair is going to react differently. You just have to keep in mind that the purpose of “no poo” is to reestablish your hair’s natural balance of oils. For me, I have yet to have any days where my hair is too greasy to bear. But I’ve read that other people have anywhere from a 2 to 8 week readjustment period where their hair is downright greasy. IT DOESN’T MEAN YOUR HAIR IS DIRTY. It means that your hair and scalp are making the adjustment that need to make. Just be patient, and remember that there are plenty of cute ways to wear a your hair pulled back! 🙂

 These are all the questions that I could think of off the top of my head (no pun intended -___-), but if you have any other questions or concerns about no poo, please feel free to drop a comment in the comments section below! Also, you can read my (almost) daily blog about my no-poo progress, and you can follow my friend Nicole’s progress here. 🙂

2 thoughts on “NO POO: FAQs (because I know you all have some)

  1. Pingback: FAQ « nicolei ravioli in the sky with diamonds…wait…

  2. Pingback: Day..something « nicolei ravioli in the sky with diamonds…wait…

Leave a Reply

