NO POO: Day 3

2/23/12

Note: I FORGOT TO WRITE ABOUT DAY 2. I KNOW THIS. If you want to see pictures from day 2, please click here to see my Day 2 pictures on Nicole’s blog (and her day 6 pictures!)

Before I started no poo, I could pull off third day hair no problem. By the time I was ready to wash it on day 3, though, it looked kinda gross.

Now, I haven’t washed my hair since Monday, and it feels kinda gross to me. My hair rarely gets greasy, so when it does (even the slightest bit), I usually freak out and wear a ponytail until I can get in the shower. Since the entire purpose of the no poo project is to let your hair find the natural balance of its own oils (without having them constantly stripped away), I was prepared to suddenly have greasy hair for a few weeks while my hair and scalp readjusted. But honestly, it hasn’t been that bad. Today it’s the tiniest bit greasy, but still looks fine. I wore a ponytail anyways because I was self-conscious, but my hair really doesn’t look dirty. It’s kind of wavy from the bun I had it in yesterday, so that was most of the reason for my ponytail.

My roots are oily, but the rest of my hair is still full of body and shiny.

Roots are pretty greasy.

not looking my best


During my research, I read a lot about people who only wash with the baking soda once a week, and then just rinse their hair thoroughly with water during their other showers. However, I feel like at first it’s completely fine to use the baking soda a couple times a week. Make sure you don’t use too much during each shower, though, as this can actually have an adverse effect on your progress. Keep it down to the recommended 1 Tbsp per shower until you start to get a feel for how much you need. You might not even need that much if you have very fine/thin hair.

Today I washed with baking soda, and did an apple cider vinegar rinse as well. The reason for the apple cider vinegar is to soften and clarify your hair. On day one, I only used the baking soda, and as I was rinsing my hair, it felt straw-like and crunchy. Usually when I rinse my shampoo out, my hair felt silky and smooth! I was expecting it to look horrible, but once I dried my hair it felt just fine. This time, I tried the apple cider vinegar (after I rinsed out all the baking soda!), and it made my hair feel much softer and smoother. I know it’s early on, but I’m starting to notice that my hair feels lighter and bouncier, and it’s even getting curlier than normal as it air dries right now.

looking (and feeling) much better after a quick wash 🙂


 Also, my friend Nicole is the one who convinced me to do this. You can follow her progress in the “No ‘Poo” project here.

If you have any questions, leave them in the comments section below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

