“NO POO” needs an introduction…

A big part of my “drama queen” persona, I have always taken pride in my hair. It’s dark red, auburn if you will. It’s just like my mom’s hair. It grows fast, and grows thick. It holds a style well, and doesn’t get greasy hardly ever. I have also never dyed my hair.

The problem with thick, wavy hair, though, is that it doesn’t get greasy. I know that sounds a little weird, but I have very dry hair that has a hard time fending for itself in the natural moisture department. I use Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition shampoo and conditioner, because both of these products are rich in three fruit oils that keep my hair healthy and hydrated. My usual routine is to wash, condition and let sit for 5ish minutes, and rinse with cold water. I then wrap my hair in a towel to get rid of the water, and comb some Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine smoothing milk. I then blow dry on low heat with a large round brush, and straighten my hair on a low heat setting.

You’re probably wondering why I’m telling you this, so let me explain: Shampoo, simply put, is horrible for your hair. Ingredients in shampoos called sulfates (sodium lauryl sulfate/laureth sulfate, etc.) are detergents that remove oils. They strip all the “grease”, or natural oils, from our scalp and hair. That sounds like a good thing, but these detergents in our shampoos are actually strong enough to degrease a car engine! This is why our hair gets greasy after a couple days with no shampoo. Our hair is almost dependent on commercial shampoos to keep our scalp and hair clean. The natural oils on our scalp are there for a reason-they keep our hair healthy and moisturized.

Me and Nicole have decided to try using no shampoo for a couple weeks and see what happens. I’m gonna use this blog to keep track of my own progress and possibly also Nicole’s if she wants to. 🙂

Note: Nicole DOES want to let you in her progress. You can find her blog right here on WordPress as well: NicoleiRavioli on WordPress

2 thoughts on ““NO POO” needs an introduction…

  1. Pingback: NO POO: Day 1 « A Day in the Life of a Drama Queen

Leave a Reply

